PDA

View Full Version : I need a better understanding

luvmyex
09-23-2005, 06:41 PM
i keep hearing all these different things about shock. I just want to know what it all is about. Such as what does adjusting the preload , rebound, and compression actually do? I know softer or stiffer but i need it in a good explantion of what does exactly what. And what is all the ssd, zeropreload and all the other thing like that?

Pappy
09-23-2005, 06:50 PM
let me try...i am no expert by far:p

compression settings will dictate how much force is needed to compress the shock.

rebound setting dictates how fast the shock reacts to being compressed

preload is the amount of pressure applied to the spring set and is primarily used to set initial ride height

ssd or zps is an added spring that allows the quad to sit lower then possible with a standard 2 or 3 spring stack.

i am sure someone alot more knowledgeable then me can elaborate and correct anything i screwerd up on:p

300ex73
09-23-2005, 07:00 PM
Well, adjusting the preload will essentially adjust the height of your quad. Adjusting the rebound will control how fast your shock returns from a compressed state. Adjusting the compression will of course control how fast the shock will allow the suspension to compress.

As far as SSD and Zero Preload, they're essentially the same thing. Elka calls there Zero Preload shocks, SSD. It's basically a small spring used on the shock that fully compresses when weight is placed on the shock. These allow the quad to sit lower in it's travel, thereby lowering the center of gravity, and making the quad more stable. These are also nice, becase you can generally achieve slightly more wheel travel, and the tires will follow the terrain better. That's assuming that you have your shocks setup and adjusted correctly.

I think I got that pretty close. Anyone lemme know if I got anything wrong or if I forgot anything.

luvmyex
09-23-2005, 07:55 PM