PDA

View Full Version : What type of bike should i get? I"m new to ATV's

la9er
08-28-2005, 11:24 PM
I'm new to ATV's . i would like to get something good powerfull but i'm not sure what to get. i'm 6'2 about 245lbs. i'm looking into a raptor or 400ex. What should i get??

08-28-2005, 11:38 PM
stay away from the craptors...i dont know about the new ones with efi but the other ones are terrible. you would probaby like the 400ex but try the kfx700

quadrcr161
08-28-2005, 11:51 PM
you need to look and see which fits you better, what type of riding you plan on doing and how much do you know about maintaing them. also do some research on each one and you will find the good and bad points and things to look for.

tater_kamik
08-29-2005, 01:10 AM
Originally posted by MixMasterMike
stay away from the craptors...i dont know about the new ones with efi but the other ones are terrible. you would probaby like the 400ex but try the kfx700

raptors get no love!! wtf!!

HondaEXrider22
08-29-2005, 04:33 AM
Yea as said above, depends what you want. Price? Looks? Fast? Type of riding?

08-29-2005, 10:22 AM
I would highly recommend a raptor. For your size they are perfect. You will be highly dissapointed with a 400ex. They are outdated and way under powered. Just stay away from the 2001 Raptor, some of them had tranny problems. There were no problems with them any other year. Oh and keep in mind you are in a predominantly honda atmosphere in here.

08-29-2005, 12:59 PM
the craptors are poorly put together and have no value after you buy them. people ar selling 04's around here in great condition for about $3k ....thats what the 400ex's are going for. raptors are garbage period

Lolli2
08-29-2005, 03:16 PM
I'd have to say either a Raptor or a Z400 to get you started. You may want to move up to a 450 once you get the hang of it. It does really depend on what type of riding you do.

tater_kamik
08-29-2005, 04:26 PM