PDA

View Full Version : New User~ Just Purchased '85 350x...perf. upgrade questions??

fyi
08-28-2005, 10:06 PM
Hi folks-
I've just joined this board and look forward to stopping by often. I'm 33 and just purchased a 350x last week and I'm looking forward to making it faster/stronger. I grew up w/ three-wheelers when I was younger and have quite a bit of riding and mechanical experience with them, albeit a bit rusty with it all.

I'm a mechanical engineer by education, an experienced machinist and own my own automotive racing engine business. If any of you have any desires to have something machined or drawn up with our in-house CAD/CAM software, let me know and I'll see if I can help. There really isn't too much we can't do here....

I've been looking over this thing since I've got it and I've gotta say~ there looks like a few things could be improved by making them of billet materials, better engineering, etc.

Do any of you more experienced riders, enthusiests or gear heads have any recommendations where to start and what is the weakest link in stock trim from your experiences? I've been told/shown from another board that the frame typically cracks near the small down-tube adjacent to the swing-arm pivot. Is this correct?

I'm looking forward to hearing from you more experienced guru's on this thing and I plan to *really* step into this project to make this machine perform. Working on this bike is a nice, welcome, different change of pace from my everyday business, so I find it very relaxing and fun!

Thanx in advance.

08-28-2005, 10:07 PM
does it do a wheelie.

fasterblaster09
08-28-2005, 10:10 PM
^^ lmao

Welcome ,you WILL get addicted.Have an pics of yuor trike?

fyi
08-28-2005, 10:23 PM
Thanks for the responses. I've looked over this website and it's huge with a lot of good information. :)

Is a three-wheeled ATC owner welcome on this board? I only see mostly four-wheeled atv's here. If not I understand and I'll step away.