PDA

View Full Version : Computer problem.. Please help!!

Punk'd
08-26-2005, 03:01 PM
Alright on my other computer I press the start up button and it will make a weird noise, but then sounds like its running right, but nothing appears on the screen.. What can this be? What can I do about it? This really stinks please help:confused:

FasstMidnightZ
08-26-2005, 03:03 PM
Have you messed with it lately ? When did you first notice it ? And, like what kind of nosie is it making.

watts16
08-26-2005, 07:06 PM
did you do anything to the registry, malicious spy ware, or a virus maybe, either way i recomend that you restore your registry to an earlier piont btw what comp is this

FasstMidnightZ
08-26-2005, 07:10 PM
Originally posted by exracer16
did you do anything to the registry, malicious spy ware, or a virus maybe, either way i recomend that you restore your registry to an earlier piont btw what comp is this Well, if its making noise (im no expert) but, I think if it is doing that then a fan is off or something. That is why I was asking if he has messed with it or etc, But if its not like a noise that would come from a fan then.......... Ya thats where im no expert at. :p

Butters
08-26-2005, 07:29 PM
yeah i would take the case off and see if there is something in the fan. if not the fan could just be old and if it is not brushless, the brushes could be out. if this is the case you will have to replace it and try getting a quieter fan. i have had this happen before and it was my fan. i just had to replace it. no big deal and fans are pretty cheap.

MOFO
08-26-2005, 07:30 PM
A few things...

(1) Fan is failing or failed causing your CPU to cook (CPU fan)...

(2) Hard Drive crashed and killing the start up BIOS - I have seen this before - not common, but can happen.

(3) Power supply is going bad, or is bad.

(4) Motherboard failed.

Do you get ANYTHING on the screen on boot up? Any beeps? From what you describe, its a hardware issue... NOT software.

trick250r