PDA

View Full Version : 300ex stumbling problems

justhavinfun
08-22-2005, 05:24 PM
...hi guys..great site you got here ...guess i'm the fng...i just bought an 02 300ex and after climbing a small hill or running a trail on and off the throttle..i get a dead spot when i first hit the throttle..like it runs out of gas for a second..pull in the clutch ...rev it up and then its fine again...as far as i know its all stock except a k&n filter..dont know if it was rejetted but wot it runs great...i'm new to the quad thing but have been working on cars all my life...is it possible the float is bad or needs adjustment?..or do they even have an adjustment?

zeppelin
08-22-2005, 07:17 PM
did you try cleaning tour carb yet, maybe your fuel/air mix is way off, does it back fire, is your filter clean, what does your spark plug look like, i kinda doubt its the float, i would at least check all these things and post the results before worring about the float

justhavinfun
08-22-2005, 07:31 PM
..hav'nt cleaned the carb yet...filter is clean and the plug shows it burning a tad lean...other than the dead spot every once in awhile when getting back on the throttle it runs great..wasn't sure on the float it just acts the same way a car would with the float level to low

zeppelin
08-22-2005, 07:48 PM
k then, when you take your carb off to clean it look and see what size the main jet is, im not sure what the stock size is right now, but im sure someone on here knows, and also richen your fuel screw when you have the carb off your bike

justhavinfun
08-22-2005, 08:17 PM
..thanks...i'll get the carb off tomorrow after work

Sjorge450R
08-23-2005, 07:08 AM
the main jet on the 300ex is a 122. After a K&N filter is put on you are supposed to rejet. (I never did.) You have to rejet because when you put that filter on it is giving the bike more air flow and you need to richen the plug. One size up on the jet is perfect. My dealer told me that the next size is a 127.5

bwamos