PDA

View Full Version : 2002 400ex for under $2000 with mods

Caseman2
07-29-2005, 10:16 PM
I am new to sport quads so this will be my first. So I dont plan on going "new". The guy that has it is around 23 and im sure the quad was used hard. The handle bars are not stright. If you arnt looking for it you will not see it. The plastics are pretty rough and are yellow with a red seat. That would have to be replaced. Mods are nerf bars , pipe (i forgot name) jetted, k&n, maxxis tires razo or something like that and aftermarket rims.

It runs good. Starts right up. I rode it only in his yard but that was limited. But i would not know what to look for anyways.

What do you guys think. This would be something my girl could ride for trailrideing. but thats just a reason so I can buy it.

Thanks
Casey

Caseman2
07-29-2005, 10:17 PM
also would this fit in the back of a 2000 Chevy S10 Zr2

Thanks
Casey

Jason250ex
07-29-2005, 11:32 PM
ummmm im pretty sure it would fit in the back as far as that question goes....just measure it

2004exrider
07-30-2005, 07:32 AM
sounds like a good deal to me. just try and check mainly engine and drive train. look to see if there is any leaks by the headgasket, the motor isnt knocking (its normal for it to have a little valve tick), check what color the oil is that will show you if he keeps up with maintenance, see that it doesnt smoke when you first start it up or when being ridden. if you can, take it to a bigger area so you can really ride it so you can make sure evewrything is alrite with it. go thru every gear on it, make sure the clutch doesnt slip, and look at the sprockets and chain to see that they dont have more than usual wear.
But the 400ex is a very bullet proof engine, i highly doubt there will be anything wrong with it.

Jimmy

250xridamatt
07-30-2005, 07:39 AM