PDA

View Full Version : YZF or Predator ?

1BadRubicon
07-23-2005, 10:02 AM
Hey guy's

I'm getting a new quad this week and I can't decide. I have been riding a lightly modified 400EX for the last four years and want to take the next step in technology. I was originally going to stick with Honda but the headlight styling, and kickstart turned me off. I ride mainly cross country stuff, but I do occaisonally tackle a MX track. I like the power, styling, and suspension of both the YFZ, and the Predator. What are the ups, and downs of each? Reccomendations, technical knowledge, and opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

450robot
07-25-2005, 03:19 AM
they are both very good choices for what you want, so im gonna sum it up for ya

a yfz, will treat you well for your mx and hard cross country racing, but just trail riding it will be to stiff to enjoy, and the seat will make your *** feel like you spent your night in a prison shower without any soap on a rope, other than that, it is probably top dog here

the predator will also be good for racing, it will do great in the cross country, but for mx, they are a little heavy, but they kick a yfz *** all up and down through the trails, and xc racing stock for stock, they are also much much more comfortable than a yfz, you can cruise all day, and you will still be comfy in the seat

i hope this helped you some

1BadRubicon
07-25-2005, 05:43 AM
Thanks. I really like the YFZ, but the TLD Predator might be the winner.

05predle
07-25-2005, 05:58 AM
Make sure you get the tld or LE models because that Fox suspension is worth every penny.

Flynbryan19
07-25-2005, 06:37 AM
I will echo what 05Predle said, Get the LE or the TLD! The podium series shocks make ALL the difference. ;)

Plus one thing the Pred has that the Yfz doesn't.......Reverse. :) I don't miss it, but it sure would be nice to have sometimes.

1BadRubicon
07-25-2005, 07:17 AM