View Full Version : How soon should I weld this??

450RGNCC
07-16-2005, 02:54 PM
I was looking my bike over because im going up to Rausch Creek tomorrow to go riding, and I happened to see some chipped powder coating on my swingarm. Apon further investigation, I found a hairline crack running along a weld. I chipped off some more powder coat and took pics of it, In the first pic I circled the spot in white, in the second pic I traced the crack with white to show you where and how big it is. Will this be ok to go riding on tomorrow? It doesnt seem like a very structural part, it is just cracked where the cut out is in the cross brace for the rear shock. What are your opinions?

450RGNCC
07-16-2005, 02:55 PM
next

450RGNCC
07-16-2005, 02:56 PM
sorry about the first pic, and by the way this is not the stock swinger, it is a Burgard.

Syrus
07-16-2005, 02:57 PM
Well obviously if it cracked it is a structural point of the frame.

But im no expert, so i cant really tell ya if you could ride tomorrow or not. Id say aslong as your not hittin huge jumps and bottoming out that should old up. But then again it is aluminum.

450RGNCC
07-16-2005, 03:00 PM
actually it is steel

Syrus
07-16-2005, 03:05 PM
Originally posted by 450RGNCC
actually it is steel

Ya sorry i was thinking about the frame.

Pappy
07-16-2005, 03:07 PM
i would have it repaired before you went big. that seems like an odd place for it to crack but anything is possible.

450RGNCC
07-16-2005, 03:07 PM
sorry, but the frame is steel too

Punk'd
07-16-2005, 04:05 PM
Maybe you went so big it scratched the back of your engine:confused:

Weird place for a crack:ermm:

450RGNCC
07-16-2005, 09:16 PM