chad502ex
06-23-2005, 08:35 AM
the second image is a breakout of the crank bearings in a CRF450R

the right side of the crank is a radial (ball) bearing
the left side of the crank is a roller bearing

TOTALLY OPPOSITE DESIGN- hmmmmmm

chad502ex
06-23-2005, 08:43 AM
now, I'm no bearing expert but i know that the roller bearing is usually setup for heavy loads, and I would guess that the load on cranks is on the cam chain side with the valve train load and flywheel wobble in the higher RPM's.

Additionally, I havn't heard of any crf crank bearing failures like i've heard of trx crank bearing failures so this has intrigued my interest so this is what i've found

Now, why did honda make the switch and why did honda change the bearing manufacture and part number from the trx 04' model to the trx 05' model to compensate. I think this is in error.

Another error that I've discovered in the documentation HONDA provides to consumers is how the spacer on the cam chain tensioner is installed. In the service manual the cam chain spacer is pictured flat facing outward, but in the parts breakdown illustration this same spacer is facing inwards. Another goof. If this spacer is installed incorrectly it will cause the came chain to be flexed side to side too much and cause pre-mature wear.

chad502ex
06-23-2005, 09:08 AM
been thinking about it a bit more, and just maybe HONDA did this intentionally for the increase in load with traction through the tranny on the right side of the crank. There is a big difference in dirt bike tire traction and a rear quad tire traction. Maybe they should have compensated with adjusting the tranny gear ratio a bit instead of trying to bearing rotation (if done intentionally). :confused:

Either way an obvious change in design not favoring the TRX....
:(

any input is encouraged.

Out_Sider
06-23-2005, 09:31 AM