PDA

View Full Version : New Raptor owner needing help

KillerBee
06-21-2005, 07:27 PM
Hello all.
It's been quite awhile since I've posted at this site.
I just bought a 2003 Raptor last week at a dealer auction.
I don't have any idea on the ATV's history and although I've owned a few 300ex's, 400ex's, and a few utlity quads I have NO experience with the Raptors.
Visually the ATV looks to be in excellent condition.
It is all stock, the stock tires look new, all decals are in place, the plastic is perfect.
It appears that the ATV has very low hours on it and is very clean.

When I bought it the battery was dead so I've haven't heard it run yet.
I charged the battery overnight and it turned over fine but wouldn't start.
I bought a new plug but I haven't had the free time to install it.
From doing a little searching on the internet I noticed some talk regarding the parking brake keeping these ATV's from running?
I figured out (I think) how to engage the parking brake, but it doesn't seem to work, the bike still rolls with the parking brake is engaged.
Possibly the parking brake cable is stuck?
I am hoping to install the new plug, check for spark, and get this this beast running.

So for the experts, does the parking brake keep the engine from starting?
Should the parking brake be on or off to start?
If the parking brake is the problem would the ATV turn over but not start?
Is there anythign else I can check that would cause the ATV to turn over but not start?

Robin Hood
06-21-2005, 07:46 PM
My parking brake never worked either, actually, everyone who owns a quad around here has never really had their's work either.

Mine starts up without the parking brake engaged. Check your starter relay, located behind your battery, when my relay went bad it would click, but nothing would happen. Can you describe the symptoms a little more? Like are there any sounds or noises when you try to turn it over? Good luck.