PDA

View Full Version : 88 250r mods

2strokerider
06-21-2005, 11:26 AM
what are some relatively inexpensive mods? my 250 is at stock bore and i would like to keep it that way. ive got a pipe and filter (its been jetted) and some minor porting work. i was looking into reeds and an aftermarket air box. do these make much of a difference or not? im tryin to build it for mx so id like to hear about any input on other parts because im new to the 250r and mx.

baker250r
06-21-2005, 06:28 PM
thinner head gasket, cr250 reed cage, 36 or 38 carb, reed cage spacer. polish ur exhaust port

2strokerider
06-22-2005, 09:23 AM
should i get cr250 reeds or v force? who makes thinner head gaskets and what exactly does that do? is the spacer going to change the power to more top end because isnt that wat u want for mx. the port has already been polished and is the carb going to be okay even though its stock bore?

baker250r
06-22-2005, 09:59 AM
u gotta get the whoel reed cage assembly for the cr250, not just reed pedals. u can get either boysen or delta v force. but get the actual cage that goes in a dirt bike. then if u do that, u gotta get a 38mm carb. OR if u want to run your stock carb, get the cr250 cage, then get a cr125 intake boot, and ur 34mm carb will work still. the 38mm carbs work alot better for the modded engines. but for a stock engine, the stock carb will do just fine.

as for head gaskets. u dont gain gobs of power by doing this, but u do up ur compression, wich in turn will create better combustion, and will help ur response. but if u get ur compression up past 180, u gotta start runnin the expensive race gas. there are a few ways to get higher compression. the best way is to get a cool head with the interchangeable domes. or people also get their stock heads milled smaller, also people get their cylinders decked, so the when the psiton is at TDC it is flush with the top of the cylinder. on stock motors, there is about a 2 or 3 mm gap.