PDA

View Full Version : hill climbing

trx400ex
09-16-2001, 06:30 PM
alright guys n gals,,,, i need some help. i want to know the best way to tackle those big hills. ive read the article in dirtwheels and found it so close to pointless it wasnt even funny. see where we normally ride there are no hills, just mx tracks and rolling woods. so then when we go to ride at a place where there are big hills my quad goes rubber side up. so if you have any tips please share.....i know so far

keep wieght forward but not to far

also how do you do ones with big chuncks of sod or dirt hanging over the ledge to create a lip...just hit it normally?

thanks

09-16-2001, 06:47 PM
I try to go up hills in 2nd gear unless its short and steep. Hit it hard before you start up and work the throttle off and on to keep from spinning and to keep the front end down.
John

4punksdad
09-19-2001, 03:38 AM
I have some experience with this...........

Hills that are in question for me I normally try to go down before I go up..........this way you can study and of the rocks or ruts on the hill which you might not see until its too late on the way up.

hills with steep faces & beyond vertical tops should be hit like a jump, not like a hillclimb. Once your front tires hit the top, throw your weight forward to continue the momentum in the right direction............hope this helps.

bsr
09-19-2001, 12:26 PM
Just get some speed and go up in 2nd, but beware of roots and logs on the hill. One of my worst enemys when climing a hill is mud. Like 3 punks said "you should go down the hill before you go up" that way you get to examine the hill. But im some cases you have no choose but to go up first :)

09-19-2001, 03:15 PM