PDA

View Full Version : hey im new, help me out

RuBb
06-20-2005, 10:08 AM
hey guys im new here and was just wondering if u could tell me a few things, alright well im 13, 5'9 160 pounds and as far as i no am now selling my dirtbike (not enough power/to small) and getting a quad. and it looks as though it may be a 400ex.

what i wanted to no is do u think this would be to hard to handle for me? i dont think but im not sure on the specifications (horsepower) lol so if sum1 could tell me how much horsepower a stock 400ex has id apreciate it. also i ride mostly in trails / pits so would this be a good choice, is it hard on gas? easy to maintain? and am i making a good choice by switching from a dirtbike to a quad because well, i have no experience at all with sport quads rofl, never had drove 1 before, but i hear they kick *** haha

and i was wondering how good the shocks are for what im going to be doing, im wont be doing any huge jumps but i do have limited funds on what i can do with it so a new suspension is kinda outa the question lol and i was also wondering about the trx450r which is probly alot better, but probly wont be getting due to the high compression motor (having to replace top-end) and i dont think i could handle the CRF450 motor in it lol

thanks =0

Chino886
06-20-2005, 10:13 AM
Hey Bud, if this is your first quad, I would go with the 400EX, simply because it is easier to handle and a little less power. I have a 400 and I think it has plenty of power, you are not going to be the fastest out on a drag strip, but if you ride trails, it is a great quad.

D

RuBb
06-20-2005, 10:17 AM
hm how much power does the 400ex have, i no the 450 has about 55, and well i hate wen u need the power, but it just isnt there, and i am hoping to have this for a while so that wen i get older i wont have to buy another new 1 lol, and isnt the 450 high maintinance? how fast did u get ur 400ex going? also can sum1 tell me how much horsepower the 400ex has i need to no