PDA

View Full Version : 250X Question for a PRO

bryan.young1
06-14-2005, 04:13 PM
Can anyone who knows what there doing tell me how i need to use a Helocoil on my 250X stock oil plug hole? the threads are starting to fall apart. i have heard that if you mess it up you can damage your motor bad. im not an expert but i can probably do it if its not to complicated.

thanks bryan

quadfamily
06-14-2005, 08:49 PM
Bryan,
Basically you have to find out what size the threads are on the drain plug and buy that size helicoil kit. The helicoil kit will come with instructions but it's pretty easy. Basically you will have to drill out the original hole with a specified size drill which probably comes with the kit. Then you have to tap it with a special tap that comes with the kit. Then you use a special tool that (you guessed it) comes with the kit to insert the heli coil. Then you have to break off this little tab once it's installed and make sure the tab comes out of the engine! And you're done.

bryan.young1
06-15-2005, 05:42 AM
sounds easy enough thanks i think i can get one atan auto parts shop rite? ill just bring the plug with me.

thanks again.

250xTrailRider
06-15-2005, 06:06 AM
Also when you are messing around inside the engine and attempting to drill metal I put grease (I use an automotive ball joint grease) on your drill bit. The metal shavings or chips will stick to the grease and will be less likely to get into the engine.

bryan.young1
06-15-2005, 05:44 PM
i will defanately use the grease. i have been putting it off because i dont want to damage my engine if some get in there, im almost ready to spend the 75 per hr that the shop will charge just to do it rite.

thanks
bryan

250xTrailRider
06-15-2005, 06:36 PM