PDA

View Full Version : Triple Rate, Quad Rate, what does it all mean and is it worth it?

04TRX400EX
06-10-2005, 02:03 AM
So I am still fairly new into the whole quad scene and am trying to figure out and learn as much as I can. I am looking to do some things to my 400EX (bumpers, skids, exhaust, etc.) and have been thinking about the suspension too. I guess I have two questions:

1.) When everyone talks about "rates," what does it mean exactly (dual,triple,quad) and what are the advantages to having rebound and compression adjustments?

2.) I do not ride MX or anything like that, so is it even worth modifying the suspension for trail-use, for example getting some Elka Recreation series or something?

Also, should I consider changing the A-arms to a better +1 or +2 design or long-travel kit, or is that more just for racing?

AlbaKFX
06-10-2005, 02:41 AM
I wouldn't say i'm new to riding, but i'm still barely getting my feet wet compared to some.

The rate of the suspention has to do with the different springs. There are different weights each spring is made to handle... longer springs are for the smaller weights, and those soak up the soft bumps, the smaller ones take more to compress and basically come into play when jumping, after the lighter weight spring compresses.

Elka Rec shocks are triple rate right? Those will be a huge improvement over stock. They will feel plusher for the light bumps, pothole types, etc, while feeling like your landing on a cloud off of a jump instead of the rigid bottoming out of the stockers.

Hopefully that helps some.

cdalejef
06-10-2005, 06:36 AM
You have it backwards, the short springs are for the smaller bumps and the long ones are the main springs which do most of the work.