PDA

View Full Version : suspension question(im a newbie)

300ex7
06-04-2005, 12:17 PM
I bought my 2004 honda 300ex about a week and a half ago. Keep in mind that this is my first ATV ever. After about 5 days i bent the rear axle doing some jumps. I ride my ATV quite hard. I just went and purchased the Eliminator axle that is 5 inches longer than stock. At my dealer they told me that this one would be way better for jumping and it had a life time warranty on it. Was that a smart choice of buying that brand and part? Does anybody else have this axle and how well does it hold up??? Also since i've already started on the suspension i might as well keep going with it and wanted to know what else i should get suspension wise? Front and rear??

bradley300
06-04-2005, 12:31 PM
Laeger and LSR make good a-arms for a 300ex, there are also a few others for a smaller budget like Burgaurd and American Star. With your plus 5 axle, your at 48 inches wide, so go on and get some plus 3 a-arms and 4:1 offset wheels. for shocks (you will need shocks with the a-arms) i suggest elka, if your on a budget, works are a great alternative. the best mod suspension wise you can do to a 300ex is a set of 20 inch hole rear tires (or razrs, but i like holeshots)

300ex7
06-04-2005, 12:39 PM
i am definetely on a budget. So what you are saying is when i get the plus 3 a arms i will also have to get the shocks to at the same time??? Where can i get these parts and what kinda of prices am i looking at for these parts??? And also where can i get the tires and how much? will the tire fit the stock rim??? or do i need to get aftermarket rims also??

thanks,

TheFontMaster
06-04-2005, 05:48 PM
Originally posted by 300ex7