PDA

View Full Version : Back Brakes

Blunts
05-16-2005, 09:48 AM
Hi all.
I'm not that mechanically inclined but I am giving it a try. I'm new to working on fourswheelers.

I have a 2000 400 ex.
The back brake is sticking. I push it down and it stays down. Do you think my cable is freezing up? should i just use some lube? what can i do to get it functioning properly again.

Sorry for the dumb questions. Still learning. and thanks.

Also, My stearing is really tight. i sprayed it with wd40 and it loosesn right up but after a day of riding becomes pretty stiff again. what can i do to lube it up so it turns better? and where thanks all.

400exrider707
05-16-2005, 10:50 AM
You might just be missing the return spring for the brake pedal. Also for you steering, take apart the top clamp that holds the stem to the frame and put some grease in there.

JOEX
05-16-2005, 11:42 AM
Remove the brake pedal, clean and regrease the shaft. Do it now while you still can;)

Blunts
05-16-2005, 12:21 PM
I appreciate the replies. thaks in advance.

The spring is still on there. it was getting stiff last fall and i didnt ride it at all this winter so now i'm getting it ready for the spring. Jumped on it and noticed how hard it was to move the brake lever. I'll try taking it apart and cleaning it.

What do you suggest i use for lubrication on the steering stem and brake lever?

JOEX
05-16-2005, 03:26 PM
I just use regular automotive grease. Marine grease might be a good idea.

zlam27
05-17-2005, 07:31 PM
there is no cable to lube for the rear brake, its a hydraulic disc brake (like on a car). i would pull the brake lever off and put some grease on the peg where it mounts. if that doesnt do it, you might have to pull off the rear caliper and clean that up a little. if thats the case, you might need some help or advice, just let us know....