PDA

View Full Version : Rear End Tear Down

rooster_20
05-08-2005, 07:38 PM
Just wanted to hear what people thought bout the reason bearings break down, this is my first time workin on my ex and its been hadies just look at the mayhem it took me 2 hours to get the axel nut off shew

TC426EX
05-08-2005, 08:24 PM
Think about what a bearing goes through, especially in the rear end, and I think youll see why they break down. Get used to replacing bearings and bushings, needs to be done at least every season if not more usually...

TCracin440ex
05-08-2005, 08:35 PM
well stock bearings dont hold up wortha damn ne ways...get an aftermarket bearing carrier that you can grease up....main reasons for bearing failure is A. you play in too much mud and water B. your chain is too tight causing stress on that left side bearing that wears them out...id just save the hassle and buy an aftermarket

the reason your axle nut was so hard to get off is because you was proaly turning the nuts the wrong way...first you have to loosen the jam nut turing it backwards...then once you get that far enough back...you loosen the other nut where u can get that clip off...it takes a while to do that because the treads on those nuts are so fine you can turn it 3 or 4 times and only move it a few mm

bwamos
05-09-2005, 03:22 PM
Originally posted by rooster_20
Just wanted to hear what people thought bout the reason bearings break down, this is my first time workin on my ex and its been hadies just look at the mayhem it took me 2 hours to get the axel nut off shew
Just wait until you have to take it off of a bent axle. ;)

Can you say a monster Crecent Wrench, 6ft cheater bar and a 300lb guy standing on the front bumper.. lol. Good times to be had by all..lol. Kicker is I was actually able to reuse the Axle nut assembly.. lol.