PDA

View Full Version : Alky Carb Setup

04-19-2005, 09:23 AM
I am thinking of making the switch to an alky carb setup for drag racing only. I have some knowledge on this topic & my cousin runs alky on his drag zilla. My question is what size of carb to start with? I was thinking along the lines of a lectron, but not real sure....40mm?
Right now, my motor is a 330 w/ CT pipe & 38mm airstriker.

Thanks for any help...let me know if more info is needed.

zedicus00
04-19-2005, 09:52 AM
41mm is pretty common carb size for that size engine on alky. actually 39 - 41 is the common range. you will c lots of bored carbs too, like a 39 can be taken to 40.5mm. and usuaully the drag crowed straight bores there carbs instead of taper boring.

TRX370R
04-21-2005, 09:19 PM
I picked up a alky carb for my 370, it's a 40.5mm.......haven't really did much tunning on it very much only tried it a couple times but when I did....what a difference over the race fuel. Did have a problem of starving for fuel on the top end in high gear due to lack of flow though the stock petcock, will have to install a fuel pump or just blow though the vent tube haha.

beerock
04-23-2005, 08:12 PM
yea i believe a fuel pump is needed for alky.

JeremyKS
05-10-2005, 09:17 AM
if you take the stock petcock off you can get by without running a pump unless your hill shooting...another thing you got to watch on the Pro X pistons is that you will have trouble keeping the piston together, I believe ESR has made a special piston now that is lasting much longer than their regular piston.

wilkin250r
05-10-2005, 11:09 AM
BIG jets.

I think your logic is backwards. I don't think alcohol favors a particular carb "size". Rather, alcohol is generally used only in drag-racing, and drag-racing favors larger carburetors, since they generally don't care about low-end power or throttle response.