PDA

View Full Version : hand grip keeps slipping

COMBATRACING
04-12-2005, 08:30 AM
How the heck do ya stop the left grip from slipping on bars like Pro taper or Tag. They have that knurled left side and it doesn't matter if i safety wire it or what grip i use they still keep coming loose. Any tricks?

huffdaddy_400EX
04-12-2005, 09:11 AM
get some grip glue...like Grip-It Grip Glue or Renthal Grip Glue

COMBATRACING
04-12-2005, 09:21 AM
I've been using glue, and i've used grip glue, 3m adhesive, clear spray paint. I can get the r/side to stick fine but that left is really pissin me off. Im a welder and im thinking of getting a piece of really thin alum. sheet metal and wrapping it real tight to the l/side bar and roset welding it in several spots. mind you very thin sheet metal. Just so the surface of the bar is smooth and not knurled.

Flynbryan19
04-12-2005, 09:29 AM
Interesting......

I don't even use grip glue. I just put them on with compressed air, then saftey wire them with three runs and they stay. How are you putting them on? Your not using water or anything are ya?

zephead400ex
04-12-2005, 09:39 AM
I posted this in the Open Forum too.

http://www.exriders.com/vbb/search.php?s=&action=showresults&searchid=884644&sortby=lastpost&sortorder=descendinghttp://www.exriders.com/vbb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=56886&highlight=grips+are+slipping

COMBATRACING
04-12-2005, 09:39 AM
I've used a bunch of methods but at this point i'm goin to the last resort i have. a few people i ride with have a simmilar problem. but i know alot of people have no prob. I'll post my results and some pic's IF IT WORKS that is. Thanks.

brian350rx
04-12-2005, 01:21 PM
Make sure your bars and the inside of the grip is clean and dry. Spray some starting fluid inside the grip and shake it around and let it all run out. Maybe blow in it a little, but while it is still wet slide it on the bars - it should slide right on. When it dries it will stick like glue.