PDA

View Full Version : New rims and tires for front and back

OldYellow
04-11-2005, 09:30 AM
I am looking at getting new rims and tires for the front and back of my 400. I am fairly new at this and was curious was the best bang for your buck setup would be. What kind of rims and size should i get, along with tires and size. I ride a lot of trails, some sand, and some tracks. Also, are the 400ex rims interchangable with the 450R's?

Chino886
04-11-2005, 02:31 PM
Hey OldYellow,
Do you want to sell your stock rims?

PBlackmon
04-11-2005, 02:57 PM
I would go with ITP tires and wheels. I would probably go with the T-9 or T-9 Pro wheels and holeshot tires, and as for tire size for your uses, I would go with 22x6x10 front and a 20x10x9 rear. That will give you good ground clearance for the trails, and also provide good acceleration for the track. I have the ITP T-9 Pro wheels and 20x6x10 holeshot MX fronts and 18x10x8 Holeshot MXR4 rears, and I love them!

DeerNuts
04-11-2005, 10:13 PM
Douglas Red labels are about the best money can buy. They do cost a ton, however.
remember you get what you pay for.

throw a set of maxxis on them and youll have an awesome combo.

250xridamatt
04-12-2005, 05:35 PM
Umm i thought hipers were the best you could buy??...

You probably want to get a 20 inch tire, because you normally use a 22 for woods racing, and an 18 for mx. So i would just get a 20 if you do a little of both.

ghak99
04-14-2005, 11:45 AM
From my experience I would go with 20" rears and 21" fronts. This should go well with a mix of trail and track riding. A nine inch rear wheel works well for both trail and track.

Regular Maxis Razrs seem to last a long time and work well in almost any conditions, but everyone has their favorite brand.