View Full Version : Buying used shocks

DeerNuts
04-03-2005, 08:52 PM
Sorry if this has been posted before, as Im sure it has, but I am interested in buying a front set of either Works or Elkas, preferably the Works (well, thats what the wallet prefers anyway).

I have seen used Works up on Ebay that sell for around 200 or so, sometimes more, sometimes less.

What is all your opinions about doing this? I am not an expert on suspension by any measure, and cannot afford brand new shocks right now. I am simply looking for a decent upgrade to the stock shocks.

So, is it a good idea or not to buy them used, or is it that much better of an idea to simply buy them new?
A shock that is worn out can simply be re-valved, correct?

(BTW, I am looking for triple-rate Works preferably).
Thanks.

peckerheadracin
04-03-2005, 09:20 PM
i would spend the extra money on the elkas because they are just awesome. i race mx and have friends that have works shocks and wish they would have spent the extra money on the elkas. the answer to your second question is yes shocks can be rebuilt how much it runs depends on who you send them to.

elka triple rate shocks front and rear
itp t-9 rims up front with 20" holeshot mx tires
douglas beadlocks in rear with 18" holeshot mx tires
uni comp filter with vented airbox
hmf slip-on
moose racing handlebars
ac pro-peg nerf bars
ac stadium bumper
ceet flames graphic kit with seat cover

DeerNuts
04-03-2005, 09:26 PM
Originally posted by peckerheadracin
i would spend the extra money on the elkas because they are just awesome

Oh I agree with you 100%, but I wont do that for two reasons:
1) I cannot afford them. Even used they are often very pricey.
2) I have no "need" for Elkas, at least I dont think so. I will not be racing MX, and I just run the bike on local trails, back roads, and my little track we have out back of the house. The biggest jump we have is maybe a 30' double, so even the stock shocks will handle that OK.