PDA

View Full Version : why cant i ride with boots on?

redrider311
03-31-2005, 07:02 PM
hello ive been riding now for about 5 years and i finally decided to get a pair of boots because i plan to race this summer and i dont see anyone wiht out them on :p ... i bought a new pair of Alipinestars tech 4's... and now when i ride its like i have leg braces on... the boots fit very comfortably so size isnt an issue.. is there something im doing wrong.. or do i just need to wear the boots it.. and how long does wearing them in usually take.. i mean does it get alot easier to ride with boots on or am i just making this harder for me?

QUADROOKIE
03-31-2005, 07:15 PM
I felt the same way at first. It just takes some breaking in. I think after about 5-6 days of riding they will start to really feel better. My main problem was not being able to feel the pressure of the shifter on my toes so I wasnt sure if I was actually shifting or not. But it comes natural now.

honda400ex68b
03-31-2005, 07:18 PM
i have a pair of alpinestars tech 7, which is for bikes and it took a couple of times to get used to them. wear them for awhile, they should break in soon and you will get used to wearing them. they will save your feet and ankles. they saved mine a few times. i dont ride or race without them.

redrider311
03-31-2005, 07:34 PM
so your saying that if i ride with them for about a week or so everyday they should get really broken in and ill be ok ?
my only problem is i cant bend the front of my foot up and down to shift easily it takes alot more time and effort.. but your saying after a while it will be ok?

QUADROOKIE
03-31-2005, 08:06 PM
Yes. Its just like any other kind of shoe/boot. It will suck for a few rides, but before you know it, they will be just like they are you favorite pair of tennis shoes!!:D

honda400ex68b
03-31-2005, 08:09 PM
i can wear mine all day at the races and dont have any problems with them, almost like a tennis shoe now. your's will be after they break in.