PDA

View Full Version : ZPS shocks

400exrider707
03-30-2005, 12:09 PM
Ok I pretty much have my quad running prime right now, but I would like to learn more about suspension setups. I have basic knowledge but I really dont understand a WHOLE lot. I was curious to know what exactly ZPS is and what it does. Also SSD. Thanks.

jacobw
03-30-2005, 12:35 PM
zps and ssd are zero preload and self sagging shocks they allow the bike to sit lower for better handling, while most of the time increasing travel. elkas uses ssd self sagging device. pep and I think axis calls it zps zero preload and tcs calls it scs sag control system its all a zero preload style shock. If you get the zero preload you will have to buy a rear zps shock or get yours converted. Elka is prob your best bet for performance and price they are top of the line and dont break the bank and Jeff@quadshop can convert your rear or get you hooked up with some elkas. The aftermarket shock come tailored to fit you and riding style and you can adjust them to fit your needs. Best money you spend will be on shocks they help alot my back always hurt after races then got elkas and its like riging a ute quad they are smooth as silk and I can walk and feel good at then end of the day.

400exrider707
03-30-2005, 08:08 PM
Ok well I recently purchased a set of triple rate ZPS elkas. Im still waiting for them to come in, and plan on having my shock revalved anyway. I was thinking of sending it to GT thunder for the revalve and linkage kit for $250, but I dont think that will convert it to ZPS will it? How much will jeff@thequadshop charge for something like that? Also why do you NEED to have the rear shock set up to ZPS as well if you do the fronts? Thanks for the info so far.

QuadJunkies
03-31-2005, 12:16 AM
Im diggin my Elkas but may have to send them back to have the Rear Redone. They are set all the way and still too soft on the rear :ermm: . Its amazing the difference shocks can REALLY make!:)

400exrider707