PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Want to talk CAMSHAFTS

jdb8297
03-23-2005, 06:12 PM
I'M new to the ATV world (not really i used to race a ATC250R in my younger years) but my son has got me back into atv's and I notice know one talks cams and what they are suppose to do! I design cams for a living for serval different race teams. So if you guys want to ask question about any cam I think it would be fun to answer them for you to the best of my knowledge!

I CAN'T DISCLOSE WHO I DESIGN CAMS FOR DUE TO CONFIDENTLY CONTRACTS SO PLEASE DON'T ASK THAT DIRECT QUESTION!

Understand I design v-8 Cams but all cams work the same way except for rocker and valve train geometry!

Cody_300ex
03-23-2005, 06:18 PM
Where is the most power going to be in these two cams? 1.350 lift and 1.400 lift. Bottom, Mid, or Top?

jdb8297
03-23-2005, 06:40 PM
When you say lift 1.350 or 1.400 do you mean .350 lift or .400 lift and to answer you question with info you provided me. With out knowing excatly what profile your talking about but just because one cam has more lift than the other does not mean that the cam with more lift will make more top end power. Alot of your bottom end power comes from how quick the camshaft comes off the base circle and starts to open the valve. For example if you took a camshaft that had .400 lift but opens the valve at 200 crank degrees at.006 LIFT compared to a cam that is .350 lift but opened the valve at 185 crank degrees at .006 lift the .400 lift would have more torque because of openning the valve quicker. I hope i answered your question with what info you gave me and if i knew more about the cam profile at what dur@.050 i could probly tell you more.
THANKS

Cody_300ex
03-23-2005, 06:44 PM
I am pretty sure that it is measured in MM, put I know That they were measured with a dial indicator.

jdb8297
03-23-2005, 06:48 PM
What exactly did you measure with a dial indicator and where did you measure?

Cody_300ex
03-23-2005, 06:56 PM