PDA

View Full Version : Bottom end work

williamjernigan
03-02-2005, 09:57 AM
I need to replace the left crankcase becuase it has a hole under the shifter shaft. I ordered a clymers manual and I have got a harmonic balancer puller to split the case apart. I have a flywheel puller on the way for my banshee but I don't have one for the 86 250r. Will the banshee one work. Also I have heard of people just using a impact wrench to take off the nut of the flywheel without the flywheel puller? Can I get a clutch holder tool from napa or somewhere or a strapwrench or something. Also I have never done a topend rebuild or bottom end work but I do know how the engine works and I am knowledgeble but I just have never had to do either. Do you think that I can do it.

zedicus00
03-02-2005, 10:14 AM
im a computer technician, i just rebuilt my clutch myself withought any sort of clutch holder or impact wrench, and i do all my own topend work, except for the actuall boring, i dont hav tools for that. only thing i would advise is read the manual b4 hand and TAKE YOUR TIME. yes yur banshee flywheel puller will work.

beak7707
03-02-2005, 12:27 PM
I dont know if a banshee puller will work or not, but one for a 250r is only a few bucks. You will have to have one to get your flywheel off. As for the clutch and what not a impact will remove all the nuts you need to get off. You will definalty want to take your time and get everything lined up. while its apart I would be sure to check all the gears and replace the bearings.

beerock
03-02-2005, 06:31 PM
no it wont work, you need a 250r motion pro flywheel puller, there 10 bux

LT250Racer609
03-02-2005, 08:23 PM
i just had my 86 cases slip less then a month ago cause i blew 2nd gear in the tranny...

we bought the manual cause we have never had to split the cases before and we bought the puller...you hafto use a 250R puller or else it wont work

Rich250RRacer
03-02-2005, 10:20 PM
Originally posted by LT250Racer609