PDA

View Full Version : Standard or Long Travel

DUNEZRUNNER
02-03-2005, 05:17 PM
I am trying to decide on what type of a-arms I want to get. I ride off-road in the desert and in the dunes, would Long Travel a-arms be worth the extra price. I am planning on getting the elka dune shocks but just cant decide how much travel I will need. I am not a pro rider but I do like to jump and the stock suspension is bottoming out, any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Thomas

Big - D Racing
02-03-2005, 05:41 PM
long travel worth every penny. Ride a bike with aftermarket std. travel arms with good shocks say elka you'll think it's real nice. Then ride a long travel also with nice shocks and you'll be thinking the aftermarket std. travel sucked compared to the long.

TORO1968
02-03-2005, 06:09 PM
Originally posted by DUNEZRUNNER
I am trying to decide on what type of a-arms I want to get. I ride off-road in the desert and in the dunes, would Long Travel a-arms be worth the extra price. I am planning on getting the elka dune shocks but just cant decide how much travel I will need. I am not a pro rider but I do like to jump and the stock suspension is bottoming out, any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Thomas

I am in the exact same boat... :)

Any other opinions???

fasterz
02-03-2005, 06:19 PM
the main advantages with LT isnt just the more travel, it is a bigger shock body so it can be set up and dialed in better. it also holds more fluids. as for the difference when riding, the dampening just seems so much smoother, ive rode both std nd lt with aftermarket shocks and the lt just blows it away and its not even much more money, im running the JRD front end with axis, with nothing but positive remarks, i will ony buy stuff from JRD for this reason, every thing is wonderful and it makes your happy your spending your money on something you know is going to impress you their site is www.jrd-mech.com

TBD
02-04-2005, 08:45 AM