PDA

View Full Version : 660 Raptor Im New With This Bike Please Help

03-660
01-22-2005, 11:44 PM
hey guys i just bought a 2003 660 and the starter dosent work, well the starter turns over but it sounds like its not engaging to another gear or something i just dont know. is this a commom problem. its been like that sence i bought it. and one other question i have is that i heard these bikes were pretty bad *** so thats why i got it and i think that its an ok powerful bike. but what can i do to livin' it up some. without putting a big bore kit on or something to high dollar, b/c i dont know if im going to keep it or not. i had a full race 250 r which i loved and loved to do things to but sadly it got stolden. but i ran across this thing so i bought it. so im going to do something to this to see if im going to like it enough to keep it or i might just sell or trade it off for another R. what do you guys think i should do PLEASE HELP. thank you

nosliw
01-23-2005, 12:06 AM
take off the starter and rebuild it (easy as pie with a clymers manual, you'll probably want one on hand anyways just in case and maintenance)

you can add a high flow filter (k&n or uni) an exhaust and the right jets and it will make it feel a lot more powerful

03-660
01-23-2005, 12:14 AM
thanks for the feedback nosliw what exhaust do you think would be good for that bike thanks again

03-660
01-23-2005, 12:35 AM
i dont think the starter needs to be rebuilt just b\c i took off the starter cover and when i hit the starter button it will work and the starter gear and the gear that is connected to it (the bottom gear) will turn freely but i think that "bottom gear" should be turning something else, or is it a one way bearing that is broke maybe i dont know. but if someone else does please help. thank you guys

03dynasty
01-23-2005, 01:52 AM
my buddy has a raptor and the starter has been acting up. a temporary fix is kick it when you hit the start button, it should engage it.

bradley300