PDA

View Full Version : new to this world

poone1
01-17-2005, 07:32 PM
I am new to the world or Quads, and I have been reading all the posts about mods and things. I just picked up a stock 2002 400ex, I have questions, I know that they have already been post but there are so many threads.

1. What is the first mod I should do.

2. What mod gives you the most bang for you buck

thanx

PIMP
01-17-2005, 07:35 PM
1. a pipe :D
2. a pipe
the exhaust is the best first thing you can buy to your quad no matter what! :devil:

crazyelece
01-17-2005, 07:49 PM
I would disagree, if you are new to quads the first things you should buy are more safety oriented. I recommend hand guards and nerf bars and mabye even a kill switch. You will also want to look into handlebars with different bends because nothing is more important than being comfortable. Then I would start protecting the quad with skid plates. After you have riden for awhile and gotten used to the quad you will be able to tell if you need anymore power. If you do decide for more power you should do the intake as well as the exhaust. Get a good filter, a jet kit, and an exhuast. You won't know what setup will be best for you though until you understand what your particular riding style is.

nosliw
01-17-2005, 08:28 PM
SUSPENSION

boystoys
01-18-2005, 04:27 AM
the first an probally the cheapest thing you can buy is a full skid.. about 100 bucks... i am so glad i bought mine... matter of fact i took it off during winter cleaning and there are some preety good gashes in it that probally would have did minor damage to something if i hadnt had it... plus it helps in deep woods ridding.. you can just slide over large fallen trees and stuff instead of getting hung up....

your new and you will probally be hitting alot of stuff..lol so like mentioned befor safety gear is pretty imporant too....

GOOD LUCK..

and dont get discourageed...... :D