PDA

View Full Version : college major

Butters
01-16-2005, 10:05 PM
i was just curious from the people going to college or that have went to college what they were majoring, or have majored in?? i just started i was just curious what everyone else was going for.

Quad18star
01-16-2005, 10:10 PM
I took Civil Engineering for 2 years .... waste of a year and a half . The first semestre was good ( they suckered us in) ... then it blew after that . The course sucked ... but college life was great . Nothing like partying on Rez . :devil:

jesshamner
01-16-2005, 10:13 PM
I'm majoring in Geography with emphasis on Geographical Information Systems at Western Kentucky University. I'm minoring in City and Regional Planning.

Butters
01-16-2005, 10:14 PM
Originally posted by Quad18star
I took Civil Engineering for 2 years .... waste of a year and a half . The first semestre was good ( they suckered us in) ... then it blew after that . The course sucked ... but college life was great . Nothing like partying on Rez . :devil:

what exaclty is civil engineering?? i'm sure i have heard of it before but i don't remember.

Quad18star
01-16-2005, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by Butters
what exaclty is civil engineering?? i'm sure i have heard of it before but i don't remember.

It's basically design of structures such has road ways , bridges , buildings , water / sewage systems . I'd say about 60% of the people that run any town / city are Civil Engineers .

It's a good job , if you enjoy math and if you don't mind traveling . Most of the time , you'll be out in the rain , snow , wind ( whatever mother nature throws at you) trying to plan or build something. If you get a University degree your job is more stable ... you'll probably end up in an office designing and planning structures and sitting in front of a computer with CAD as your best friend . :p

Quite easily put ... NOT FOR ME !!!!

440exnacsracer
01-16-2005, 10:23 PM
going for mechanical engineering this fall

Quad18star