PDA

View Full Version : Help with Hybrid

YZ400EX
01-11-2005, 01:29 PM
Ok guys here is the deal..I am getting a GREAT deal on a 99 YZ400F bike here soon and was thinking of putting the motor out of it into my 400ex. What I am wondering is how hard woul it be to get the motor in there and would it really be worth it since the bike is a 400 too and not a 450? I know that I would have to have special mounts done and possible frame mounts relocated and stuff like that, but what else?? I know I need a radiator and some other odds and ends..Could I jyst use a 250R rad and figure out where to mount it..I am new to this whole hybrid thing and figured people on here know alot more about it then me..any infomation would be much appreciated..Thanks

wilkin250r
01-11-2005, 01:55 PM
It's much more common to put the YZ motors into 250r frames than into the 400EX frame.

But, the YZ400 is the predecessor to the YZ426, which is the basis for the YFZ450 motor. The YZ400 motor is easily more powerful than the 400EX motor.

YZ400EX
01-11-2005, 02:30 PM
Well the reason why I would use the 400ex frame and not the 250r frame is because I already have a 400ex and everything for one..It is possible to put this motor in the 400ex right?? And will it be worth the money to do it all?? How much would need to be done??

throwinitup
01-11-2005, 05:33 PM
easier to put in R frame b/c of the radiator is already all there...your better off goin with a laeger 250r frame and yzf426 motor...this is the most common hybrid, and theyre FAST....but i would only recomend this for a race bike, they rev very quickly..

YZ400EX
01-11-2005, 07:23 PM
Well here is the deal..I dont have a 250R nor a frame..I dont have a 426 motor..I have a 400ex and I have a YZ400 motor..I didnt ask what would be the best if I was to build one from scratch, I asked what I would need to do to fit this 400 engine in my EX..Anyone else??

markk
01-11-2005, 07:42 PM