PDA

View Full Version : FMF Fatty Pipe

nwi45
01-04-2005, 07:44 AM
I'm really new to the 250R world..I was wondering how good of a MX Pipe the FMF Fatty is. The bend on it is real weird so I wasn't sure what type of riding it is best suited for. Thanks.

baker250r
01-04-2005, 08:21 AM
the fmf is a good dirtbike pipe. Not as good as alot of others are for the 250r. I have a used Paul Turner midrange pipe and a LRD Silencer that I could sell ya for $75.... real cheap! they both are the cream of the crop when it comes to 250r's
I got all new system Paul Turner system and don't need the pipe anymore.

Hawk III
01-04-2005, 09:07 AM
I have had the fmf and i can say it's a true pos for the 250r. go with either the paul turner or the LRD you can't go wrong with either

wilkin250r
01-04-2005, 09:59 AM
Most people don't like FMF because they are a mass-produced generic all-around pipe. They don't have as much peak horsepower as other dedicated pipes.

You've got to understand a little about two-stroke pipes and how they work to really appreciate the FMF pipe. The exhaust pulses set up a resonant vibration inside the pipe that helps build power. Well, the problem with that is resonance is generally at one frequency, or a very small RPM range. You can get great power in one area, but lousy everywhere else. If you build a pipe for massive power in the upper RPM range, it will have lousy power in the low rpm range.

There are tricks you can do to spread the power out over a wider RPM range, but then you don't get as much peak, it's kinda spread out everywhere.