PDA

View Full Version : 400 ex clutch problems, HELP!?

r6xual
01-03-2005, 11:18 PM
Heres the deal. I have a 400 ex and I seem to be having some issues with the clutch. First off, it will not slip in to neutral while the quad is running at idle, however if you rev the engine up to a constant speed with the clutch pulled, or shut the quad off, it slips in to neutral just fine.

Another thing is that while the quad is in gear, and I have the clutch lever pulled in, it seems that it wants to creep forward by itself. Its so bad that when i have the clutch lever pulled in and the quad is in gear, i can hardly back the thing up using my feet becuase it is trying to move forward. This is starting to get very annoying.

I have tried adjusting the clutch cable every which way and that has not seemed to help the situation at all. I also took the case cover off and i am not an expert by any means, but i could not see anything wrong to the naked eye.

I thought that maybe it was the type of oil i was using but a friend of mine is using the same stuff, and his 400 ex has no issues at all. This is what leads me to beleive that it has something to do witht the clutch and/or clutch plates??

Thanks guys

Charlie

cals400ex
01-04-2005, 12:12 AM
stock or aftermarket clutch?

is your oil clean?

how much play is in your clutch lever?

mojoe2878
01-04-2005, 05:37 AM
take the cover back off and look to see if there are any grooves worn in the clutch basket fingers where the fiber plate fingers hit up against them. if there are some grooves on the basket fingers, then remove the clutch plates and file the basket fingers down just untill the grooves are gone and put the plates back in, if there are grooves on the fingers it will not let the clutch fully disengage. i had the exact same problem you are having and this is what it turned out to be.

r6xual
01-04-2005, 08:05 AM
Originally posted by cals400ex
stock or aftermarket clutch?

is your oil clean?