PDA

View Full Version : Battery Cables



K_Fulk
12-26-2004, 10:59 PM
Whats the info on you battery cables? What gauge price etc.

Even with my big battery I have been having starting problems (turning over slow). Replaced my starter with my other one and I'm hoping I can get it to start a little easier.

After its warmed up its a little better. When its cold it will turn slightly then you hear a spinning noise like the starter clutch just gives up. It may be a starter clutch/ starter issue also?

Thanks.

JDiablo
12-26-2004, 11:00 PM
is it like a buzzing noise coming from the start relay?

K_Fulk
12-26-2004, 11:03 PM
The relay works fine. Its just trying to crank over a 13.5:1 motor. The motor will turn and then the starter will free spin.

JDiablo
12-26-2004, 11:05 PM
wow 13.5:1 lol no wonder you made this thread,maybe your started needs to be rebuilt?and also do you have a rev box or ignition of any kind?

K_Fulk
12-26-2004, 11:10 PM
Stock revbox / stock ignition.

I just put in my strter from my 440 That just had new brushes installed in it shortly before I sold that motor. The one that was in there looked like it had work done on it at some time or another but I dont know when.

The piston is a 13:1 then I had the cylinder decked and the head shaved when I blew a head gasket this past summer so it should be over 13:1 now.

Starter clutch on the flywheel may be out I should try installing my other flywheel and see if that helps it.

JDiablo
12-26-2004, 11:12 PM
well looks like i was wrong there,i was going to say if it was a rev box,they always have starting problems if the battery isn't fully charge,but idk what this is...maybe stator?:huh good luck man,and i haven't seen pappy to much lately i think he been working real hard best bet is to call him prolly

K_Fulk
12-26-2004, 11:18 PM
Its not my rev box. My motors dont need the extra stess the extra rpm's would put on them, cause I would be all over them if they were there.

And its not the stator I put in my spare this summer cause a couple of wires were thin on my other one. And I put my battery tender on it if I dont ride for a week or so.

Pappy
12-27-2004, 07:04 PM
we use 600 mah welding cable. works pretty good.

have you tried running the stronger battery?

K_Fulk
12-27-2004, 07:19 PM
Yeah , still turned over slow when it was cold. When warm sometimes it would start quick sometimes it wouldn't.

For the last few years I have been using 10 gauge car stereo cable for the battery. Would you cable be less likely to corrode.

Pappy
12-27-2004, 07:53 PM
i havent had any issues with corrosion as of yet and we have been using them going on 3 years. ill check and see if i have a set made up and try to get you a few pictures. it might be a few days...im so busy i dont have much time for the internet these days:(

K_Fulk
12-27-2004, 07:59 PM
I'm not in a real big hurry. Snow is too deep to ride it anyway.

Rico
12-28-2004, 09:40 AM
I want some new wires also pappy.

Do they come with the connectors on them???


My order from you is growing.

gloves, shirt and now Wires. Hire more people at the shop so you can get back to goofin off....:mad:

Dave400ex
12-28-2004, 11:06 AM
I have the battery cables with the Gsxr750 battery and am very happy with the setup. It cranks the 416 much faster then the stock setup started my stock motor. I have had my cables for a good year and a half now with no problems. No corrosion.

Pappy
12-28-2004, 05:04 PM
ill make a up a few sets


rico..can do.....just bare with me things are starting to get back to somewhat normal since the weather is warming up and the holidays are almost over:p

dave400ex...glad to hear it:D

Craig02
12-28-2004, 06:26 PM
I may be interested in some of those cables after seeing pics and price..

shamisc
12-28-2004, 10:40 PM
Is everyone using the GSXR batteries??:confused: If so, what's the p/n on them??

Dave400ex
12-29-2004, 10:17 PM
YT12A-BS

shamisc
12-31-2004, 12:56 AM
What the difference in a YT12A-bs and a YTX12-BS?:confused:

Pappy
12-31-2004, 07:35 AM
Originally posted by shamisc
What the difference in a YT12A-bs and a YTX12-BS?:confused:

the abs has more power and fits the stock battery location. the bs is taller