PDA

View Full Version : restricter??

Lou400ex
12-25-2004, 09:17 PM
At the dealer they mentioned something of a restricter on pipe and carb on 50's. is this true couldn't find it in manual. I have a bombardier ds 50. I still need to brake in the new quads but want to get ready to make them faster than stock.
Lou

Arctic Cat Dad
12-25-2004, 09:53 PM
Here is where they were on our Arctic Cat 50. It's the same quad as yours but different plastic. 1- Where the tail pipe connects to the expansion chamber, there was a washer in there.2 The bomb should have a different air box that connects right to the carb,mine has the air tube connecting the carb and airbox. There was a washer in the air tube on mine. 3- There is a brass sleeve in the top of the carb. This keeps the slide from opening all the way up.4- In the variator there was a brass bushing in between the 2 variator halves. The variator is in the clutch system. It is the front pully right behind the kickstarter. this bushing is about a quarter of an inch wide. It keeps the pullys from going all the way together keeping the belt lower in the pullys. 5- the rear sprocket was a 50 tooth. But I believe the bomb is smaller. Some of these may have been removed from your local dealer. Hope this helps.

Lou400ex
12-25-2004, 09:58 PM
Arctic Cat Dad, should remove all those washers and bushings at once? Or just the air box and pipe washers to start?

Arctic Cat Dad
12-25-2004, 10:10 PM
How good of a rider ya got. I removed them all as soon as I found them. But Michael has been rideing since he was 3. I would try the pipe first . See how he does and go from there. Then you can remove as you like. You might not have the air box one. But it would only take a few minutes to remove the airbox and look. And the pipe is only 3 bolts that holds the talepipe onto the expansion chamber. Or you could remove them all and set the throttle limit screw behind the thumb throttle.

Lou400ex
12-25-2004, 10:17 PM