PDA

View Full Version : what can a 416 beat?

400EXdude
12-23-2004, 05:24 PM
hey im pretty sure im getting a 416 kit for my 400EX thanks to all the help from all the people on here...lol...but anyways i was just wondering what a 416 was capable of beating....and its gonna have a 416 kit...stage 2 hot cams...K and N air filter....proper jetting...A revbox and possibly a headpipe....(it already has a White Brothers E-series slip on..) and keep in mind i am a pretty good rider...i have been riding for about 7 years now...and i mostly mean what can this beat in a strait drag race...or woods racing...

P:S...any other mods that would help greatly i would appreciate the advice..thanks..

nosliw
12-23-2004, 05:27 PM
i dont know what it's capable to beating.

a full system and some port and polish work are some other things you can do though

4StrokinJay
12-23-2004, 05:48 PM
In a drag it should beat a 400 ex...;)
It all comes down to the rider when in the woods though. If you're good, you can smoke any bike in the woods.

400exracer511
12-23-2004, 07:34 PM
my 416 with the same mods you mentioned doesnt have the bottom end torque that a z400 has but in a drag race i think it would start to pull away after a little ways. i doubt it would touch a yfz of 450r

If you are planning on riding in the woods i wouldnt get the stage II hotcam, it is more for top end power like you want for motocross, get the stage I (more low end power) for woods riding

like nosliw said a full exhaust and port & polish will help alot

khen
12-23-2004, 09:02 PM
The biggest thing I noticed with my 416 setup is how broad the powerband is now. I didn't notice any loss on the bottom end but noticed a big gain in the mid and top end. The EX is so much easier to ride on the MX track now. I don't have to worry so much about keeping it in a narrow powerband out of the corners anymore.