PDA

View Full Version : Valve Seals

ny300exrider
12-12-2004, 05:43 PM
i think my valve seals are beginning to wear out on my 400ex. im not very good with motors yet and was wondeirng exactly what they do and an estimate price on how much new ones are and an estimate on what a regular mechanic would charge to install them. the symptons of my quad are it smokes when started for about one minute and then stops. i think oil gets passed the seals and then eventually burns off. the one thing that concerns me is if i ride my quad full throttle for like 10 seconds it will blow out some blueish smoke. would valve seals cause this by any chance or is it defintily something else like rings. anyone who had to replace their seals, could you tell me what your quad was doing so i can figure out my problem. The quad defintly doesnt seem to be loosing power and it runs good.
thanks

Aceman
12-12-2004, 06:36 PM
Yeah, sounds like you need to replace the valve seals. Service Honda says 4.82 per seal. So I would guess a dealer would charge you maybe 25-30 for all 4. Probably around an hour and a half to install. I've done the valve seals on my 300ex with the engine out of the frame so I'm not sure how long it would take with it in the frame.

hondardr4life
12-12-2004, 06:45 PM
I dont wanna mess up his post, but I am rebuilding my 98 300ex with a 330 kit, and I hav emy motor all torn down. My question is, should I go ahead and replace my seals while my motor is in pieces? And how hard are they to replace?

mojoe2878
12-12-2004, 07:23 PM