PDA

View Full Version : high octane gas question

big_poppa49
11-30-2004, 02:18 PM
This might be a stupid question but here it goes anyway. Do you guys think its safe to run 100+ octane gas (like maby 110) in a 400ex with a pretty much stock motor?? A station here carries it, its called turbo blue and there's only a couple that has it.

44oEX
11-30-2004, 02:24 PM
well I am no gas expert but there is no reason for it to damage anything.

The only thing is that ras gas is used for high compresion engine. and since yours is stock it probably won't do anything as far as power or atleast not much.

So save you money and run 91octane

Juggalo
11-30-2004, 02:29 PM
it wouldnt hurt your motor at all but you would just be wasting money. you wont be making any more power then usual. in fact you could actually be losing power running race gas in a stock motor. the reason for this is the higher octance gas burns SLOWER then lower octane. this means it takes more heat to get the air fuel mixture to completley burn so you might not be burning all your gas and end up losing a slight bit of power and not only that THROWING YOUR MONEY AWAY! the reason race gas is used in high compression engines is because the more you compress the air fuel ratio the more heat is built up. eventually you compress it too much and build up too much heat and it explodes before the spark plug ignites. this is what causes pinging and is extrememly bad for your motor. thats why you should run race gas in high compression motors and just stick with premium (i always ran regular actually) on your stock motor. race gas is pointless until your runnin high comp.

big_poppa49
11-30-2004, 02:30 PM
I usually run just plain ol' regular (I think its like 80 sumtin octane), you think I should at least run Plus gas?

big_poppa49
11-30-2004, 02:32 PM
Yeah around here its like $2.50 a gallon. Just thought I might give it a shot but hear you guys opinion first, dont want to mess up anything...

44oEX