View Full Version : Opinons On First Street bike

DAB516
11-27-2004, 07:28 PM
Alright i've been looking into getting my first streetbike soon and was going to get an R6, but I saw The Ducati 748 and am in love with it. Anyone have opinions on it. I know it's not exactly the best beginner bike but I've been riding dirtbikes and quads for quite a few years. Are the R6 and 748 comparable at all?

Here's one I really like.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=49990&item=4506649138&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

cdrookie
11-27-2004, 09:14 PM
sweet looking bike! the duc's and the r6's aren't comparable at all. v twin and inline 4, completely different power characteristics.

2002400ex
11-27-2004, 10:57 PM
Dont underestimate a R6. It has a ton of power. You make think u can handle anything. i would get the R6. but good luck and be safe on whichever one you want or get.

DAB516
11-28-2004, 09:56 AM
So which ones faster?

cdrookie
11-28-2004, 10:13 AM
the r6 revs faster and probably has more top speed but the duc has the torque.

kwatts400
11-28-2004, 10:15 AM
They both are way faster than you need a first bike (or any bike) to go.

kwatts400
11-28-2004, 10:19 AM
O yeah, the duc has more hp, faster 1/4 time by .17sec and 2.7mph, and alot more torque.

2002400ex
11-28-2004, 12:23 PM
if u are young, your insurance is gonna be insane. but i would get a r6 because i dont know if there are a lot of parts floating around for a ducati. i bet once you found a part it would be twice as much as a r6 part, but i dont know.

chucked
11-28-2004, 12:44 PM
damn I think a great first bike is something that costs under 2k. Because if you wreck a ducati or an r6, you will want to kill yourself.

DAB516
11-28-2004, 01:21 PM