PDA

View Full Version : 400ex Starting Problems? Help...

apalusso
11-23-2004, 02:03 PM
Last month I added a WB slip-on exhaust to my stock 400ex. I went ahead and jetted the bike properly but for some reason my bike has difficulty starting? It takes awhile (meaning 5 to 10 minutes) to get my bike to turn over. I have a new battery so that is not the problem. Any thoughts on ways I can get my bike to start quicker...Thanks so much.

Aaron

mojoe2878
11-23-2004, 02:20 PM
does it turn over fine or what?
try backing your air/fuel screw out some or installing a bigger pilot jet.

cals400ex
11-23-2004, 02:24 PM
does it not turn over or does it not fire?

apalusso
11-23-2004, 02:34 PM
After about 10 or so times, the bike will finally turn over and start. Does it have to do with the rings which came with the WB exhaust?

I checked the color of the spark plug and there is no black residue or plug burning up...so it does not sound like it is the jet. Just my thought...I am still new to this. I am willing to give anything a try. Do you think it is the timing? I have not tore into the motor or anything like that...just rejetted after I placed the slipon. Everything else has not been touched.

Thanks again....

mojoe2878
11-23-2004, 02:38 PM
you arent making much sense.
is the motor turning over but not starting or is it not even turning over?
you said it turns over and cranks after about 10 tries and i have no idea if you mean it finally cranks on the 10th try or if it isnt turning over or anything until you hit the start button for the 10th time.
need to know what exactly you are talking about b4 we can help.

apalusso
11-23-2004, 03:12 PM
I appologize...the bike does turn over and run....but it takes about 10 minutes trying start the bike to get it to turn over. After riding the bike and then trying to restart it will take just about the same amount of time to get it to restart.