PDA

View Full Version : Exhaust temp. gauge

hondarider2006
11-18-2004, 02:06 PM
I was wondering if it was possible to install an exhaust temp. gauge on my 426. Friend of mine has one on his sled, and I was thinking about installing one on the quad. Anyone one done this before, or know how to do it?? What all would I need to install one??

dunedragger
11-18-2004, 09:23 PM
Sounds like fun, I have never tried it before. I did buy whats called a Heatseeker. It is a built in temp. guage that takes the place of your oil dipstick. As far as the exhaust temp, drill a hole, weld in a nut, screw in the temp guage, connect it to a power supply and watch it heat up.

speedy400
11-18-2004, 09:33 PM
I will be also doing the same soon, all you need to do is mount the gauge, drill a small hole in your header like 6 in from the head for your heat probe, then weld a nut for the probe to screw into, worst case- you just grind off the nut and weld up the hole.-darren

hondarider2006
11-18-2004, 10:25 PM
Will it matter which header I dill and put the temp sensor in?? Also will this restrict flow much, or should I be good??

balls2da-wall
11-19-2004, 07:10 AM
You should be good...my buddies that drag race turbo DSM's have EGT gauges in there headers...but of course they are more worried about monitoring their 25,000$ engines than a few horse power...if it does restrict flow it will be so small you wont notice.

-or I could be totally wrong since a cars headers are much larger than a 400ex:D ...you should be safe

hondarider2006
11-19-2004, 11:35 AM
So does anyone have any pictures of this being done, or will mine be the first??

fmf400ex03
11-19-2004, 04:02 PM
any 1 know what stock exhaust temp is at regular running tempeture

speedy400
11-19-2004, 07:20 PM