PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade or buy new quad?

maskale
11-16-2004, 07:58 PM
I have a 2002 400ex with K&N, 440 kit, cam, exhaust and some other performance upgrades, I am happy with the power but the stock suspensions sucks. It was ok for trails but now that I go to the track it is not enough. I can't make up my mind weather to buy a new YFZ450 or the 450R or just upgrade what I have.

I have 3000 to spend. If I upgrade my 440ex then I think my suspension would be better than stock on the Y and R. If I buy new then I would have to use the 3000 as a down payment and I would still have monthly payments and I would still need to upgrade somethings on a new quad.

This is what I would upgrade too on my 400ex. Suggestions welcome on what not to get or what to get. I am new to MX so I dont know everything.

Burgard +3+1 with the Nickle plate fininish, I live on the coast so rust is a problem and PC seems to wear off. I am open to other brands though.

Elka Quad rate fully adjustable for the front.

Elka Triple rate for the rear.

Steering stabalizer.

Razr MX tires, with beadlocks (maybe HIPERS, everyone here that has them seems to like them)

I already have a +3 rear axle

And some other things just to trick it out.

I have not rode the YFZ or the 450R but how would my 440 rate as far as power goes. Cause getting more power would not be a bad thing at all, there are still some performance upgrades I can do to the 440ex though.

(this thread is not about YFZ or the 450R but weather or not to upgrade what I have or start with a new one, but if you would like to make a comment about them I would like to hear it, I have used the search feature and have read nearly everything about the Y and R on this site)

thanks for all the help and advice.

yoshz400rider
11-16-2004, 08:14 PM