PDA

View Full Version : PCing Hubs??

300exPat
11-11-2004, 04:49 PM
i know how to take the hubs and rotor and all that crap off but i saw someone powdercoat them wit the bolts still in?? can you even do that??? and is there anything inside the hub that will like melt or get messed up if i leave them in inside the oven??

FasstMidnightZ
11-11-2004, 05:30 PM
i dont think nothing will mess up u can paint the bolts to but when u go to put the wheel on it will probaly come off .and i dont think nothing will mess up from the heat but im no expert only pappy is , hes usally on here maybe hell answer

JRDrider22
11-11-2004, 06:18 PM
we just reuglary painted ours. we taped off our bolts and painted around them. they havent chipped yet. we did 4 coats..let it sit for a day. then 3 coats of clear coat. and let it sit for a day

it turned out perfect

YZ400EX
11-11-2004, 06:18 PM
I dont think the heat would mess anything up and they are easy to remove anyways..if the paint or PC did get on them the nuts wouldnt fit the studs good anymore..they would be tight..Just remove the bolts and put them back in after PC or they can probably tape them off when spraying anyways..

QuAdEr 317
11-11-2004, 07:09 PM
Originally posted by JRDrider22
we just reuglary painted ours. we taped off our bolts and painted around them. they havent chipped yet. we did 4 coats..let it sit for a day. then 3 coats of clear coat. and let it sit for a day

it turned out perfect
spray piant?

Pappy
11-11-2004, 07:13 PM
hubs can be painted, i dont feel they really take much abuse unless you are a severe mud monkey.

id remove the hub from the quad, remove the bearings and seals, completely strip the stock finish and beadblast. then tape the pads off and wheel studs, use a good self etching primer and a decent enamel paint. top it off a day later with a good laquer clear coat.

good prep, and patience will be needed as way to many folks rush it and end up with something hideous:scary:

FasstMidnightZ