PDA

View Full Version : Wet fouling

stocktires
11-10-2004, 11:19 AM
I re-jetted my R a few days ago and rode it sunday. She ran awesome, but after an hour or two I noticed the power slightly starting to drop off. I figured it was my plug, and it was. Wet-fouled like always. What should I do get the the brown paper bag color? I know I need to go leaner, but should I go leaner on the main? needle? needle clip? Everything? Any suggestions?

Pappy
11-10-2004, 11:22 AM
im no expert but i have an R that did that and after trying several jetting combos i started back at square one and adjusted the oil ratio. its been awhile but i think we figured it was to high of a ratio and the oil wasnt letting the gas completely burn.

im sure one of these R eficinados will offer something more for ya:p

Roostin250R
11-10-2004, 11:49 AM
Is it missing through out any part of of the throttle when your on the gas?? what type of carb, mods, etc? if its only missing at wide open throttle, then your main jet is to rich. go down one at a time and do your plug chops for color. If its missing from 1/4 to half throttle then your needle jet is to rich and needs to be leaned out. If its missing from idle to 1/4 throttle then your pilot jet is to rich and you need to go down in size. Remember, if its only missing in one part of the throttle range, do your plug chops for that range only, and use a new plug when you do it. You can still use the plug later. Just be sure to start with a fresh plug so you can get an accurate reading.

stocktires
11-10-2004, 11:54 AM
Thanx paps, I'll keep that in mind.

Roostin, I'm runningthe stock carb with an aftermarket float bowl on it. Cool head, 19cc dome, CR reed cage, slight porting, and fmf exhaust. The bike is running great. That's why I was asking what to do. I basically know how to jet a carb.

Roostin250R
11-10-2004, 05:11 PM