PDA

View Full Version : good alluminum cleaner

needaEX
11-09-2004, 07:18 PM
Hey, I was just wondering if u all know of any really good product to clean alluminum. I just bought a used tool box and its really,really, oxidized. I have got Eagle 1 wadding polish and some turtle wax stuff, but it will take hours to get it all done that way. thanks

mojoe2878
11-09-2004, 07:59 PM
thats the only way to make it look good. it does take a long time though. i drive a truck for a living and own a peterbilt 379 that has a chit load of chrome and aluminum on it and its a all day job when i get ready to polish it up. get a drill with a polishing cloth on the end of it and use that with a liquid polishing compound, the drill makes the work easier and faster, when your done you will be able to see your relection in that tool box.

Bubba
11-09-2004, 08:06 PM
Whats that acid that turns aluminum white? Where can i get that?

mojoe2878
11-09-2004, 08:21 PM
im not sure what the name of it is, but they use it all the truck wash's. it dull's the hell out of polished alluminum. if you put any kind of acid on there be sure to do it before you polish it or it will dull it out.

Ericthered rdr
11-09-2004, 09:25 PM
Do a search for a product called Flitz. I havent used it in a couple of years but it is the best thing I have ever used in any metal.

Good luck!:D

needaEX
11-09-2004, 09:30 PM
hey guys thanks a lot i never thought of the drill thing im gunna do that i think it will be the cheapest easiest way to do it prolly

400exdad
11-10-2004, 06:16 AM
Originally posted by Bubba
Whats that acid that turns aluminum white? Where can i get that?

Muractic acid will etch metal, including aluminum. You can also use the concentrated purple stuff from Autozone - straight. Some aluminum wheel cleaners will do it too.

Stevie-D
11-10-2004, 07:04 AM
Mother's Aluminum Polish:blah:

good stuff

Got Roost?
11-10-2004, 10:50 AM
just use some fine steel wool

SGA
11-10-2004, 01:08 PM