PDA

View Full Version : Giving it up...

jesshamner
11-04-2004, 01:39 AM
I'm sad to announce that I will not be racing for the next few years. I have come to the conclusion that racing is too expensive for me at this point. I am working part time to pay for my apartment while I'm at school. My grades have been dropping b/c I have been working. Also, my advisor has been awful in helping me set up a schedule to finish in 4 years. As a result, I'm not even close to finishing and I'm in my 4th year. Here's the result of all this....My mom isn't paying for anymore college after the 5th year first semester. I will be forced to pay for it myself. I don't blame my mom at all. So now I'm suffering the consequences and giving up something I love until I can afford it. I'm sure I could race some events here and there but I have a feeling that it would only make things worse. I have an obsession with riding and quads in general. I will still be riding and practicing at local trails that are only a small burden on my wallet and can fullfill this obsession. I will be working hard on my skills for my comeback later. Please do not take this as some sort of scheme to get sponsorship or handouts. That is not the intent of this thread. I just feel like I need to let it out. Hopefully, this will free up a little money to get to some trails and ride with you guys! Just wish me luck....thats all.

cliq20
11-04-2004, 04:56 AM
that sucks man. but been there done that. gotta finish school that's more important. then when you get a job and are still single, then you can race. it gets harder when you have a wife and kids even.

by the way - GOOD LUCK! ;)

cliq20
11-04-2004, 07:04 AM
by the way, get as many student loans as you can. they are the cheapest money you can borrow anywhere. they usually give you extra each semester. as long as you aren't in private school you should be ok...