PDA

View Full Version : putting the 400ex back together

YFZWHEELIER
10-29-2004, 10:19 PM
ok well i just got my head back today and i put everything back on and it wont fires, its like its not gettin spark, the plug is good tho. i think it is my timing. i have no clue on how to time it and what top dead center mean, could some one help me out please?
thanks a lot

honduh440
10-29-2004, 10:31 PM
STOP! leave the bike alone and take it to a shop! i promise you will hurt it more if you continue to mess with internal parts. I see you are from kansas if your anywhere close to wichita have N motion put the quad back together their number is 316-262-8900

YFZWHEELIER
10-29-2004, 10:46 PM
hey screw u buddy, im not takin it to a shop and payin 500 for them to time it, im just asking how u time it, i know quite a bit about quads im just not a mechanic so CHILL OUT MAN

chucked
10-29-2004, 10:52 PM
if its out of time it will still spark, just not at the right time, check for spark.

I-7
10-29-2004, 11:02 PM
Originally posted by YFZWHEELIER
ok well i just got my head back today and i put everything back on and it wont fires, its like its not gettin spark, the plug is good tho. i think it is my timing. i have no clue on how to time it and what top dead center mean, could some one help me out please?
thanks a lot

The notches should line up for top dead center but it will still spark even if the timing is not lined up. Retrace your steps to see where you went wrong or seriously consider honduh440s advice and take it to a professional shop to insure that you dont do any major damage that your will later regret...

440ex2001
10-30-2004, 12:12 AM