PDA

View Full Version : 400EX carb on a 300EX, jetting?

brooksgnm
10-26-2004, 11:12 AM
Hello everybody this is my first post here. I would like to start off by saying I am a COMPLETE newbie to ATV's. I would also like to say this has to be the MOST fun per $$ that I have ever gotten into! I do have lots of experience with all types of 4 stroke engines, so I'm not clueless, just not familiar with the in's and out's of the 4 wheeler world yet. I just got into the hobby when I bought a 300EX off my buddy that recently upgraded to a 400. He is registered on this site as well but to be honest I'm nut sure what his handle is. There's a long story behind all of this but it's irrelevant, so on to my question! My bud put a 400 carb on it, and it's definitely got some jetting issues. It seems to go VERY lean if you hammer it very suddenly, and even sometimes if you slowly go WOT. Half and 3/4 throttle it runs great. Does anybody here have this setup, and if so what did you jet it to to? Just a ballpark figure would be fine, I'm sure I can figure it out from there. Also, where do I look for a jet kit, and have you had good/bad experiences with any particular brand? Thanks for the help guys, I'm having a case of information overload trying to learn about these things!

cals400ex
10-26-2004, 02:00 PM
most people i talk too start off with a keihin 150 mainjet, needle clip in 3rd position and a stock pilot jet. the mods you have on the bike will probably determine this though.

sjc115
10-26-2004, 02:40 PM
cals400ex:
When you say the needle is in the 3rd position, is that the 3rd position from the tapered end, or the 3rd position from the other end?

Aceman
10-26-2004, 07:16 PM
There are only 5 positions on the needle, so that would put it in the middle either way.:blah: :p When they state a position on the needle it is starting from the top of the needle going down.

cals400ex
10-26-2004, 11:08 PM