PDA

View Full Version : My Lady Wants A Sport Quad

DanAKAL
10-20-2004, 03:40 AM
I need some help here. My lady has decided that she wants a Sport Quad and I’m not certain which way to point her. Her experience has been on my utility Arctic Cat 500’s. She goes to the MX races with me and has finally decided that quads are her favorite and she wants to give MX a try. I know very little of these things other than my AC’s. I do know that they don't get around an MX track very well! Heck I’m not even a MX racer so I can’t help her much there either. However, I am a cross country bike racer. Current rides are a KX250 and KTM 300 EXC. I’ve been racing cross country for almost thirty years. Living in the Great Land our options are sometimes limited and Suzuki would be our best option. There may be better machines but I think that a Z250 or possibly a Z400 would be good to get her feet wet. I really think the Z250 would be the better choice. All that I read about them they are very agile and pretty fast. Seems everyone from beginners to pros like them. She goes about 5’3” and 130 lb. By my thinking the 250 should have more than enough engine for her to be competitive in the Novice classes. I have a little hesitancy about the 400 as my experience has been this is quite a machine and I'm not sure I want to start her out on this. However, at 35 she probably would learn quickly what riding over your head gets you. Anyway, any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.