PDA

View Full Version : TRX450 questions from Yamaha guy

DirtDevilBT
10-13-2004, 04:15 PM
Ok, I would like to introduce myself for I am new to the Exriders. My name is Brent but you all can call me DirtDevilBT. I come from Bluetraxx with questions. I am a Yamaha man by history. I have 2 warriors, one is stock lol. My family has warriors and raptors and dirt bikes and so on. I am ready to get a new quad cause the warrior is not able to expand with me anymore. I have been looking at the YFZ450 and the TRX450R. I want total honesty from everyone here when I ask this question: What problems have there been associated with the new Honda?
I can tell you honestly that the YFZ has water pump leaks, head gasket leaks, impeller shaft premature failure, decompression plug failures (04), battery charging problems, crappy seat, really stiff shocks, and so on and so forth. I still like the way it looks, handles, flies, and how I feel standing/sitting on one. It feels like a real awesome warrior almost. I don’t like how they say you are supposed to check the piston every 20 or so hours and that it may need to be replaced after some crazy number of hours like 50. WTF. I really like the quad but can’t wait for Yamaha to fix all the bugs when they come out with the full 450cc motor.
I like the Honda 450 very much as well. It looks good and has a more trail like ride. I trail and desert ride a lot and it sounds as thought the Honda my be more “right” for me. Nice suspension, even though it is an 1” less than the YFZ, but will I really get in to that other inch? I do ride at Glamis and Pismo so it will need to have the flight of a bird and the landing of a butterfly with sore feet. I like to fly through and over the dunes as well. I feel comfortable picking the Honda, after all that big red atc was still kicking until the California fires got to it.